God’s Word Trumps Man’s Opinion

God's Word Trumps Man's Opinion“God helps those that help themselves.”  It’s right there in umm … well, I can’t recite the chapter and verse, but I KNOW it’s there! That’s why He destroyed Sodom and Gomorrah, you know,  that rebellious couple in,  umm …  GENESIS!  That’s it.  Yup.  I got that right!  They just wouldn’t do anything right for themselves,  so God had to destroy the two of ‘em. Bam!  Just like that.  Turned ‘em into salt, He did.”

It’s becoming more obvious every day that the church in America is in a decline.  Recent statistics show that 81% of born again Christians believe that  “God helps those that help themselves”  is a bible verse.  Only 18% of professing Christians read their Bible regularly.  Any questions?   On most any typical Sunday you could walk into many evangelical churches to find a lengthy and, dare I say, entertaining set of worship songs led by amazingly talented musicians and vocalists.  You might see a video presentation or two,  promoting a great upcoming church sponsored event, and then more worship songs, announcements, and promotions.  Then,  just before the pastor’s teaching from the Word of God,  the children will be ushered out of the worship center to receive something “more suitable”  to their age level and attention span.  The Word of God apparently isn’t powerful enough to get through to them at their level.  Then the pastor will take His few remaining minutes to share the Word,  but probably not too directly,  because that might offend someone, and that’s not good for church “growth.”.   *Insert disclaimer here . . .    This is not to say that every church is this way,  but that more and more,  this is the trend.  Much of what takes place in a church today is based on geographic demographics and opinion polls.

But the responsibility doesn’t just lie with the local churches.  It lies with each of us, as believers. It’s about obedience.  We seem to each have our own areas where we think it’s okay if we  “have it our way.”   At some point we will have to reconcile “our way” with “His way,” found in “His Word.”  Webster says  that to “reconcile” means “to make or show to be compatible.”  Really?  Something to ponder . . .

So you think . . . You are disillusioned with church,  so staying home alone, isolating yourself from others to be a “Lone Ranger” Christian is okay?

God’s Word says . . .  “And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds,  not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching” (Hebrews 10:24-25)

How do you reconcile His Word with staying away from His people?

So you think . . .  That wonderful loving couple,  each of whom has chosen not to follow Christ,  but have given their lives and funds to feed and house the homeless, and care for Aids affected babies in their home,  surely will meet you in Heaven?

God’s Word says . . . “Jesus answered, ‘I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.’ ”  (John 14:6)

How do you reconcile His Word with the couple’s rejection of Christ?

So you think . . .   I don’t need to read the Bible every day.   In my heart,  I know what’s right.

God’s Word says . . . “All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting,  and training in righteousness,  so that the servant of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work. (2 Timothy 3:16-17)   “Sanctify them by your Word.  Your Word is truth.” (John 17:17)

How do you reconcile His Word with your neglect of reading it?

The Word acts as water, helping us to clean up our life by showing us what needs to change so that we can be all that He would have us be.  It is called sanctification, becoming more like Christ.

Listen believers,  God did not provide His Holy Word to us so it could sit on a shelf collecting dust, or so it could be an icon that we carry back and forth to church on Sunday morning.  The statistics mentioned above reflect the results of just that.  We are in danger of raising a generation of professing Christians that are biblically ignorant . . .  Christians that apparently don’t respect the Word of God enough to read it.  I confess that I have a real hard time with this because I’m familiar with Christians in other countries who are desperate to get their hands on a bible.  Sometimes, if one person obtains one they will rip out the pages and share them with others. But, you know what?  They also have to hide them, sometimes under the carpet, mattress, wherever, just so that they’re not found,  because it is illegal for them to have bibles, and if found,  they will go to jail. But they are willing to risk that for the privilege of reading the Word of God. Yes, they are that serious about it.  Isn’t  it odd how we in America think we should be sending missionaries to other nations?  Other nations where they are willing to die for their faith in Jesus?  And do?

I believe a time is coming when we, as believers, will undergo real persecution in this nation.  Most of us do not want to believe that, but we’re told,  “Indeed, all who desire to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted…” (2 Timothy 3:12)    God’s Word trumps man’s opinion.  The clouds are gathering as we speak.  God help those who are not grounded in the Word of God.  If you are not reading the Word on a daily basis, begin now.   It will stand when all else is gone.    May God bless those who read it,  believe it, and obey it.   May God be with those who are suffering and dying for it.  And may God help the church in America to learn from them.

That’s the view from here . . .

About Peg

I am privileged to be the happy wife of my godly husband John, and blessed to be the mother of three daughters, and Grammy to six granddaughters and one grandson. We enjoy our life here in the Mt. Washington Valley of NH. I love my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, and having been saved by His grace, seek to follow Him daily as I pass through this earth on my way to eternity. Along the journey, I take great pleasure in my family, music, writing, fiber arts and all things creative!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to God’s Word Trumps Man’s Opinion

  1. Henshaw says:

    This is the price of prosperity. Americans are far too entertained to bother reading the bible. The example you mentioned above of a church is just the natural progression. “We have to keep them entertained.” It’s easy to blame churches, but ultimately churches are just a building full of like minded people.

    I think we’re looking a long period of prosperity. When people are well fed and comfortable they’re not as likely to want a savior.

    • Peg says:

      Thank you for your reply Henshaw. I agree. Prosperity breeds complacency. My daughter had a friend once from a restricted nation that felt that the faith of Christians in America was weak because we haven’t been tested. I believe that is true. I didn’t always see it this way, but after learning about persecution and spending some time as an area representative for Voice of the Martyrs, my whole persepective changed. I’m praying for our nation daily.

  2. Lori says:

    I love this post Peg. I agree with Henshaw. I have felt so discouraged by the Christian movement in America. We are a lazy group and we have no need of God. We can provide for ourselves. Even more so, we don’t cherish the Word of God. We don’t understand the gift we have. Thank you for your boldness!!

  3. Peg says:

    Thank you, Lori! I agree with you. Sometimes I feel like the church is dozing off, if not downright asleep to what’s happening. While I do know that God is in control, I think we will be held accountable for how we handle His Truth. Thank you for your encouragement!

  4. Skye says:

    This was a brilliant piece of writing, Peg. I totally agree. This weekend, our pastor announced from the pulpit that he has been asked to step down. I am not sure how to feel at all. Somehow reading this seemed very timely to me. Big hugs and thanks!!

  5. I’m not sure if you accept awards but I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! You can find it here: http://kingintraining.wordpress.com/2013/08/13/versatile-blogger-award/

  6. Peg says:

    What a nice surprise this morning! Thank you so much for your encouragement. I’m new enough to the blogging world that I’m not familiar with “awards” and how they work. (Thanks for the informative link to your post.) Since my sole purpose for blogging is to encourage and point people to the Lord, I pray for His direction before I write. I certainly cannot take any credit myself, but will gladly accept on behalf of Him. I’ll get the post and my nominees up soon. Thanks again!

  7. Pingback: Speaking with God’s words | daily meditation

  8. Avoiding the church because we don’t like her is kind of like telling Jesus, “Yeah, sure I love You. It’s Your wife I can’t stand. Come around all you want, but leave her home.” How’s that gonna go for us? Probably not too well! ;)

    Great post!
    \o/

    • Peg says:

      How true, Tami! “What God has joined together, let no man separate.” (Mark 10:9) It’s quoted at most weddings, but ignored by many when it comes to church involvement. While I’m not real happy with the direction “the church” has taken in the western world, God intends for us to do life “together”, as His body. Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

